Prospect Award winners 2019: Glencore takes Excellence in Mine Safety

The winners of the 2019 Australian Mining Prospect Awards have been announced at Moda Events in Brisbane.

An annual celebration of the best and brightest of the Australian mining industry, it was the 16th staging of the Prospect Awards last night.

For the first time, the Prospect Awards were held in Queensland and recognised the significant contribution that the state continues to make to the industry.

Glencore’s Mangoola CHPP coal operation in New South Wales received the night’s standout honour as National Group Mine of the Year.

The operation was also recognised with the Flexco Excellence in Mine Safety, OH&S Award.

Mining stalwart Owen Hegarty was awarded the highest individual honour of the evening – the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here is the complete list of winners from the 2019 Prospect Awards:

Community Interaction
Waanyi-Downer Joint Venture – New Century Resources

Contract Miner of the Year (sponsored by Epiroc)
Mitchell Services

Contribution to Mining (sponsored by BGC Contracting)
John Emerson, Board Member – MinEx CRC

Hard Rock Mine of the Year (sponsored by Epiroc)
Century mine – New Century Resources

Excellence in Environmental Management (sponsored by Metso)
Cape Lambert Turtle Management Program – Rio Tinto

Excellence in Mine Safety, OH&S (sponsored by Flexco)
Mangoola CHPP – Glencore

Mine Manager of the Year (sponsored by CRC Industries)
Paul Cuthbert, General Manager Mine, Olympic Dam – BHP

Minerals Processing of the Year (sponsored by CDE Global)
Surge Loader – MMD

Innovative Mining Solution (sponsored by Austmine)
OZ Minerals and Unearthed – Explorer Challenge

Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Liebherr)
Owen Hegarty, Executive Chairman – EMR Capital

Australian Mine of the Year (sponsored by National Group)
Mangoola CHPP – Glencore

Stay tuned to Australian Mining over the coming weeks for in-depth profiles of each winner.

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend