Features, News

The 2019 Prospect Awards finalists

Safe to Work is proud to announce the finalists for next month’s Australian Mining Prospect Awards in Brisbane.

The awards will take place in the Queensland capital for the first time in 2019.

On Thursday October 10, the 16th edition of the awards will be staged at Moda Events to recognise and reward excellence and innovation across the mining and minerals processing industry.

Encompassing the mining sector across the country – from hard rock through to coal and everything in between – the awards acknowledge not only the major players in these industries but also the rising stars of tomorrow.

Here are the finalists for 2019:

Coal Mine of the Year (sponsored by SEW Eurodrive)
Ensham underground coal mine – Idemitsu Australia Resources
Grosvenor underground coal mine – Anglo American
Mangoola CHPP – Glencore

Hard Rock Mine of the Year (sponsored by Epiroc)
Century Mine – New Century Resources
Gruyere gold mine – Gold Fields and Gold Road

Mine Manager of the Year (sponsored by CRC Industries)
Andrew Wilson, general manager Argyle mine – Rio Tinto
Paul Cuthbert, general manager Mine at Olympic Dam – BHP

Minerals Processing of the Year (sponsored by CDE Global)
Ormeau quarry – Boral and Metso
Surge loader – MMD
Fortescue project – Weir Minerals

Innovative Mining Solution (sponsored by Austmine)
Rexx – Bis
CSGME pump controller – CSG Mining Equipment
GEAR – Polymathian
1.7t Autonomous Excavator – Universal Field Robots
XECUTE – MineWare
Greenfields Mill – FMR Investments and Metso
Downhole Navigation solution – IMDEX
Explorer Challenge – OZ Minerals and Unearthed
Non-line of sight remote control dozers – Wolff Mining

Excellence in Mine Safety, OH&S (sponsored by Flexco)
Mangoola CHPP – Glencore
InControl – INX Software Pty Ltd
O3M 3D Smart Sensor – ifm
Drug Alert – Frostbland
Non-line of sight remote control dozers – Wolff Mining
LA-40 – Nivek Industries
SAFETRENCH – Trenchless

Contract Miner of the Year (sponsored by Epiroc)
International Mill Relines
Mitchell Services Limited

Contribution to Mining (sponsored by BGC Contracting)
Jason McCallum, Yancoal general manager
John Emerson, MinEx CRC board member

Excellence in Environmental Management (sponsored by Metso)
Secondary ventilation solution for underground mines – Minetek
Cape Lambert – Rio Tinto
Linked Energy EcoSkid – Linked Group Services
Going for Gold recovery technology – CSIRO, Nu-Fortune Gold, Clean Mining
Ardmore Phosphate Rock project – CDE Meta

Community Interaction
Waanyi-Downer Joint Venture – New Century Resources
Girls Rocking Resources – Bis
Gundi Program, Corrective Services Industries – Thiess

*** The Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Liebherr) and Australian Mine of the Year (sponsored by National Group) will also be announced at the Prospect Awards dinner. The Hard Rock Mine of the Year and Coal Mine of the Year nominees are all eligible for the Australian Mine of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend